The Virginia Society for Respiratory Care, Inc. 977 Seminole Trail PMB 327

http://www.vsrc.org

VSRC Board of Directors Q4 Meeting Minutes
Friday, January 19,2024
Hybrid (Virtual + On-Site/
Augusta Co. Library
Fishersville, VA

Orientation of New Members: 11:00am-12:00pm Board of Directors meeting 12:30pm-2:30pm

I. Call to order

President Derrick Many calls meeting to order 12:31pm, (ran late due to IT issues)

II. Roll call

Connie Lloyd- A, Done by Derrick Many

l Executive Committee Reports:

- 1. President- Derrick Many-P
- 2. Vice President Susan Arrington -P
- 3. Treasurer Daniel Gochenour-P
- 4. Secretary Connie Lloyd- UTA
- 5. President-Elect Leslie Johnson-P
- 6. Immediate Past President Ryan Sharkey-P
- 7. Delegates Hanns Billmayer -P

Bessie Brooks-Garnett –P

District Directors Reports:

1. Blue Ridge

Andrew Carruthers -P

Madison Fratzke-P

2. Central

Erica Chenault- UTA

Ali Brown-P

3. Northern

Jared Rice-P

Sherleen Bose-P

4. Tidewater

Brian McHale – UTA

Santiera Brown-Yearling-P

5. Western

Amber Lipes-P

Standing Committee Reports:

- 1. Audit:
- 2. Bylaws Hanns Billmayer-P

Bylaws co-chair Andrew Carruthers- P

- 3. Education Dr. Doug Wright -P
- 4. Judicial Maria Rudd- UTA
- 5. Legislative Chair Sherleen Bose-P
- 6. Legislative, Co-Chair Yvonne Marante-P
- 7. Membership: Ryan Sharkey- UTA
- 8. Nomination & Election Chair Ali Brown-P

Nomination/Elections Vice Chair- TBD

9. Media/Website

Susan Arrington -P

- 10. Strategic Planning Chad Gibbs -P
- 11. Public and Prof Relations Summer Daniels-E
- 12. Chair of all Programs Susan Arrington-P
 - a. Capital City Symposium Ali Brown-P
 - b. Symposium by the Sea:

Santiera Brown-Yearling-P

Susan Arrington- P

c. Neo-Peds Conference:

Michael O'Brien- E

Sherleen Bose -P

d. Mountain Air Symposium Jared Rice- P

Other Standing Members:

- 1. Medical Advisor Dr. Bruce Rubin- E
- 2. Parliamentarian: Andrew Carruthers- P

Ad-Hoc Committees/Representatives

- 1. Disaster Response Maria Rudd- UTA
- 2. Industry Liaison Tim Sharkey- E
- 3. Student Council Representatives

CVCC Marty Demopoulosa- UTA

CVCC Altairis Martineza- UTA

CVCC Taylor Thompson- UTA

4. Military Liaison Howard Byrd- UTA

5. Historian:

Guest: Amanda Patrone (looking to join a committee)

Quorum- yes

III. Approval of minutes from last meeting

- Minutes approved Q4 2023- With changing Leslie's attendance to Present.
 - ---Motion by Andrew C. 2nd by Leslie J.

IV. Reports

a) Submitted reports attached

V. OLD Business

- Sherleen Bose stepping away from Neo-Peds program.
- Yvonne Marante- Legislative Co-Chair, not Alyssa.

VI. New Business-

- New District Directors Voted on, who were not on election ballot:
 - o **Northern District-** Cherise Wilson
 - o **Co-Western District-** Douglas Hundley
 - Motion by Susan A., 2nd by Leslie J.
- Delegates- Winter List: Discussed and evaluated
- New Parliamentarian- James Shuke
 - Approved by Board
- Doug Wright discussed importance of Chase being communicated with in terms of ongoing budget amount for local colleges/universities. Details to follow up with Executive Board.
- Upcoming Audit Preparation
 - o Daniel, Doug, and Jim to discuss and start planning. There are a lot of resources from the AARC to facilitate as well.
- Elected Officials Sworn in by Andrew Carruthers (Parliamentarian)
 - See updated roster below
- Importance of Code of Conduct Application and Also, Conflict of Interest Form
 - Leslie Johnson will send information out to make sure all who need to do this are provided a form and that it gets filled out.

VII. Roll call

Connie Lloyd- A, Done by Derrick Many

1 Executive Committee Reports:

1. President- Leslie Johnson-P

2. Vice President: Susan Arrington -P

3. Treasurer: Doug Wright-P

4. Secretary: Sherleen Bose- P

5. President-Elect: Santiera Brown-Yearling-P

6. Immediate Past President: Derrick Many-P

7. Delegates Hanns Billmayer -P

Bessie Brooks-Garnett –P

District Directors Reports:

1. Blue Ridge

Vinny Richardson-P

2. Central

Travis Goodwyn- P

3. Northern

Cherise Wilson- E

4. Tidewater

Kyle Fields-E

5. Western

Amber Lipes- P

Douglas Hundley- P

VIII. Adjourned

President Leslie Johnson adjourned meeting 2:22pm- Minutes: Derrick Many